Single Sunday: Miss Jackson

Miss Jackson, are you nasty?

 

Have you ever heard the phrase “this song sounds better played live”? Well, some songs just don’t catch your attention until you hear them played live, and “Miss Jackson” by Panic! At The Disco was definitely one of those songs.

The first time I heard this song, I think I was so wrapped up in the difference between it and, say, Pretty. Odd. that I didn’t let it register in my head as catchy and fun. Then Panic! played it live on Friday at the Mud Island Amphitheater. Honestly, the most embarrassing thing about going to a concert is when you don’t know the words to a song. So when they played “Miss Jackson”, I listened close so I could at least catch onto the chorus.

Guess what song was stuck in my head on the way home? That’s right, “Miss Jackson”.

One of the signature things about Panic! At The Disco has been that each of their albums were really diverse, and the new album is still different from the ones before. While some claim it sounds like the recent Fall Out Boy album- and hey, is that bad even if you think it’s true?- Panic! is still going strong.

The only question I have is: does this video have any actual plot or moral? If there is, I totally would like to be enlightened.

The end story is that I love this song- I should have loved it earlier but people make mistakes, okay?!- and I think that if you’ve got stipulations about what Panic! should sound like you might be disappointed but if you take the song for more than face value (not saying anything bad about Brendon’s face)  then I believe you will really enjoy it.

WARNING: I’m not liable in case of the event of this song getting stuck in your head. Sorry.

Xoxo,

Radium Rollercoaster

Posted on September 29, 2013, in Interviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

