Motionless In White’s Circus: America

Motionless In White has come a long way from their first full length studio album. I remember being introduced to “City Lights” and getting shivers from the dark and elegant song. Even the lyrics touched me and I liked it. MIW has always been different almost extreme to a point- in their dress and music. “Immaculate Misconception” seemed harsh to me, but I almost admired that. But I never really got into them.

There’s ups and downs to the fact that they’ve seemed to level out recently. There’s nothing quiet about the message that their new song “America” brings, however. With obvious influences of Marilyn Manson and Rob Zombie (think Living Dead Girl here), their attack on our increasingly corporate country is another reminder that things need to change.

The video, directed by M. Shawn “Clown” Crahan of Slipknot, and while entertaining and just strange enough to representing the country we know in the form of a circus, I don’t really care for. Contrary wise, lyrics like the verse “ Oil prices are so high we can’t feed ourselves/ So we buy into fast food and occupy the will/ We upload our status and beg for attention/ While they’re all eating cake up on Capitol Hill” in a metal-hardcore anthem was brilliant.

I know that many people will dislike this song for different reasons, but I appreciate it, and apparently my little sister does too! I think that the point isn’t truly to criticize the country as a whole but to wake people up to making a change for the next generation.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qN5ewi44N8]

Xoxo,

Radium Rollercoaster

Posted on June 8, 2013, in Music!. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

