You Have To Live Before You Die Young

            So, a few weeks ago, my boyfriend asked me to check out the song, “Ghost of Perdition.” By Opeth. I wanted to, of course, because he told me to. But at the time, I told myself, “Don’t worry Radium, I’ll watch it later.” And this was what I told myself over and over. I’m pretty busy lately, between school, family, guitar, reading, soccer, and this blog. Honestly though, I know it was no good excuse. Now, after being harshly reminded and feeling guilty about never listening to it, I will do more than listen to it. I will review it. 🙂 Maybe it’ll make some things better.

            Here we go. As I push play, I’m mildly frustrated. Screaming. The guitar is really nice, like he said, but the vocals are not up my alley. And I’ve never denied disliking overall screaming. I like a little of everything, but I anything but love screaming vocals. I just can’t understand the words D: I like the words though, reading them on the YouTube video I found.

            Holy crap! Singing! 😀 I like these vocals J It has a nice beat to it, I’ll give it this. It would make a wicked work out song.  The slow parts are almost entrancing, like you’re watching a really awesome opera and it’s a death scene. That’s how I see it, and then the guitar comes in angelically. Not for long, but worth that small segment.

            Another solo later in the song. They must really like their guitarist. I don’t know anything about Opeth really. At 9:02, those like…4 seconds are definitely my favorite part. I have no idea why. It’s just really cool sounding. That quiet guitar in the back (at the end) makes it sound like a gothic cowboy movie. It has a southern sound in the quiet parts.

            So, my overall opinion: I’d have to get used to it. It’s not bad, and if I like a song, I can deal with screaming. I often do. I like Sleeping With Sirens and Black Veil Brides, and the rest of the song makes the screaming worth listening to. The same goes here. It’s just an unfamiliar song to me and I have the capability to come to enjoy it. And I could, and will do as such.

            Thanks for the new song. It’s good for me to broaden my horizons, and I’m happy to do so.

            Check it out! vv

p>

 

 

            XoXo Radium Rollercoaster

Posted on April 8, 2012, in Interviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. ^▽^

    I’m glad you liked it. It is definitely a favorite of mine, not only do Opeth’s songs sound nice, if you try to play them you can respect the complexity in their songs. Maybe that’s just me though. If you liked the softer parts of the song i would recommend ‘Isolation Years’ by them. Much more depressing than their other songs, but they make it work. Thanks for giving the song a listen-through.

    – D

Leave a Reply

